Emma for Tea…

Oh how I wish you could see the nuances in the values of this lovely drawing! Invested time is well over 72 hours…that’s when I lost count! I was sleep deprived and not interested in keeping time! I’ve stopped almost every day for 10 or 15 minutes to do “clean ups” and touch ups, so imagine that! hahaaa…it’s a wonderful feeling though, now that she is complete!

I’m enamored with her…hubby gave me this lovely porcelain doll with a soft body, several years ago and I was inspired to draw her when given the choice of whatever I wanted for my first still life drawing. I’ve already spotted a wonderful frame for her, too! I think I’ll be entering this one at EBSQ this month for their Still Life show…be sure to stop by and vote!

Here’s a quick link:  http://www.ebsqart.com/Art-Shows/Exhibits/Still-Life/376/Emma-for-Tea/741868/

18"x24" Charcoal & Graphite on Paper

18″x24″ Charcoal & Graphite on Paper

Yes, that’s an old, and very collectible, wooden Kraft cheese box sitting upside down with the chintz teacup on it. 🙂 An old chintz creamer on Emma’s lap…her tiny chintz floral covered dress hangs while she ponders what flavor tea she’ll have today…the lovely off white underdress she is wearing is oh so romantic…see the eyelet trim? Shall we pour from the chintz teapot? One or two sugars? hahaaa! You’re feelin’ it, too!

I love antiques…I love little collectible things that remind me of a time when life was so much simpler. A beautiful, well made, garment…a charming piece of pottery or two…and, of course, a little Dolly for every little girL! Can you tell that another love is chintz!? Yep! 🙂

Well, I’d better get back to tea with Emma…she invited Missy and Teddy! Thank you for stopping by!

God bless and prosper you always!

~Selva Solimar

One thought on “Emma for Tea…

Leave a Reply

